the Vagina Monologues

18 03 2013

so I am now kind of wondering what my motivation really was, for attending the recent performance in Tokyo, of this long running event in the theatrical calendar. first up, I don’t have a vagina. so, most of the content would be alien, no? wouldn’t I struggle? 

 

not really. I empathised. at least that’s what I think I did. vaginas and willies are somewhat interchangeable, in some respects, so simply by altering the gender, this man can get something of a handle on what you ladies are saying. I work with women, often called on to be some kind of a shoulder to cry on or agony aunt/uncle, the voice of wisdom (really??) etc. 

and yet again, the Japanese inherited system that changes ever so slowly, creeping along at the speed of an arthitic snail, is putting off the official apology until the last of the Comfort Women have passed away then, there will be nothing for the Japanese Government to apologise for, so they won’t. it irks me massively. 

 

I didn’t feel awkward as a man attending ….what’s he here for? did he hear ‘Vagina ¥2000’? despite a few sentiments expressed in the readings of freedom from men, that’s to be expected. I’m just glad to have been present. I can empathise, share the humour, which after all, is my religion.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

