throwing buckets of ice-cold water down the y-fronts of success

17 07 2013

throwing buckets of ice-cold water down the y-fronts of success

SILVER PEOPLE

it ticks a few of the boxes related to my photo fetishes: bald men, backlighting, shadows, mimicry/symmetry. more importantly, it might be the fulcrum.

all these years I’ve gleefully rejected almost every opportunity for self-improvement or promotion, thrown buckets of ice-cold water down the y-fronts of success. blinkered in the belief that somehow wearing the hair shirt is a mark of success in its own right. well it ain’t. I’m flat broke skint & boracic. and only myself to blame. just giving voice to a few colourful phrases in the hope that you don’t make the same tragic mistakes I have.

Silver People was long ago submitted for one of these online photo contests, one that benefits disaster-related charities in Japan. In all honesty I had forgotten. then today a message pops up and says the snap has been shortlisted. my first thought is ‘you’re having a laugh’ – like, it’s all right but it’s not that good. a couple of years ago this same cause-related contest chose another of my Japan snaps. because I told myself it wasn’t my time, I didn’t make the effort to look for the high res file. and so that opportunity, offered to me on a plate, was discarded. so many times I have been given an opportunity to shine, and I’ve made a cockup of it.

I truly think this is the last chance I should be given

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

